INGOSSTRAKH

P&I NEWSLETTER JULY 2020

INDIA ESTABLISHES ROUTING SYSTEM FOR SOUTH WEST WATERS

Due to recent increase of incidents concerning collisions involving fishing vessel in the busy sea route around the southwest coast of India, the Indian Directorate General of Shipping (DGS), on 2 July 2002, promulgated a Merchant Shipping Notice, M.S. Notice 11 of 2020, establishing a routing system for the southwest Indian waters. This Notice enters into effect on 1 August 2020.

It says that Arabian Sea around the south-west coast of India is a busy sea route with substantial number of ships passing through the area and also has large number of fishing vessels operating in this area. This, in turn, has resulted in several incidents of collision in Indian waters, so it has become necessary to have a mechanism for marine traffic to safely operate in the area that will not only ensure improvement in safety of navigation, avoidance of collision, ease in flow of traffic and the avoidance of areas of heavy fishing traffic, but also contribute towards enhancing the safety of life at sea, safety and efficiency of navigation, and/or protection of marine environment. Full text of decree and the coordinates of the new routing system in South-West of Indian waters is provided in text of decree via this link.

PHILLIPPINES: GCQ EXTENDED OVER METRO MANILA

Philippine's P&I Correspondent, Messrs. Del Rosario Pandiphil Inc. reports on recent decision of the Philippine Government to extend the General Community Quarantine (GCQ) status over Metro Manila until 15 July 2020. Other places that will also be under a GCQ set-up are the provinces of Benguet, Cavite, Rizal, Leyte and Southern Leyte. Also under GCQ status are the municipalities of Lapu-Lapu, Mandaue, Talisay, Consolacion and Minglanilla in the province of Cebu and Ormoc in the province of Leyte Meanwhile, Cebu City remains to be under the most stringent Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) status until 15 July 2020.

In the meantime, the following have been placed under a Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ) with strict local action status: provinces of Abra, Ifugao, Kalinga, Ilocos Norte, La Union, Pangasinan, Cagayan, Isabela, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga (including Angeles City), Batangas, Laguna, Quezon (including Lucena City), Palawan (including Puerto Princesa City), Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur (including Naga City), Capiz, Iloilo (including Iloilo City), Negros Occidental (including Bacolod City), Negros Oriental, Cebu (except Talisay, Minglanilla, and Consolacion), Bohol, Tacloban City in Leyte, Western Samar, Zamboanga del Sur (including Zamboanga City), Bukidnon, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental (including Cagayan de Oro), Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur (including Davao City), Davao

de Oro, Cotabato, South Cotabato, Agusan del Norte (including Butuan City), Lanao del Sur and Maguindanao

The rest of the Philippines will be under a low-risk MGCQ status.

The government is said to be continuously evaluating the situation in the various regions/provinces if there is a further need to change or modify the quarantine situation.

Government operations, businesses, services, public transportation and movement of people are restricted based on the prevailing quarantine status with ECQ being the most stringent and low-risk MGCQ as least stringent.

All Philippine Ports Authority (PPA) controlled ports shall remain open for cargo operations subject to the requirements of the Bureau of Quarantine and the Department of Health.

Inbound international commercial flights for passengers at the Ninoy Aquino International Airport (Manila) are allowed on a limited capacity. As of this writing, only returning Filipino citizens including their spouse and children with permanent resident status, foreign dignitaries and diplomats are allowed to join the inbound commercial flights and they will be subjected to quarantine procedures. Other international airports are being geared for re-opening to inbound international flights subject to regulations.

Domestic flights have partially resumed but heavily restricted by regulations imposed by local government units.

Considering the fluidity of the situation, regulations are subject to periodic evaluation and may change.

JAPAN RATIFIES BUNKER CONVENTION AND NAIROBI WRECK REMOVAL CONVENTION

On 1 July, 2020, Japan deposited its instruments of accession to the International Convention on Civil Liability for Bunker Oil Pollution Damage, 2001, and the Nairobi International Convention on the Removal of Wrecks, 2007.

Once the Act does come into force, the following Japanese-flagged vessels will have to apply for financial security certificates under the conventions, and keep them on board:

- BC: Japanese-flagged domestic or ocean-going vessels of 1,000 GT or more;
- WRC: Japanese-flagged domestic or ocean-going vessels of 300 GT or more.

The application procedure for convention certificates will be determined by governmental and ministerial decrees.

The Nairobi Wreck Removal Convention was adopted in Kenya in 2007, and provides a set of uniform international rules aimed at ensuring the prompt and effective removal of wrecks located beyond the territorial sea. The Convention also includes an optional clause enabling States Parties to apply certain provisions to their territory, including their territorial sea.

These Conventions will enter into force for Japan three months from 1 July 2020, i.e. 1 October, 2020.